Virginia G. Piper Concert Series

David Finckel, cello
Wu Han, piano
StartNovember 11, 20183:00 pm
Subscriber: Save on tickets and enjoy the best available seats when you subscribe to all five Virginia G. Piper Concert Series performances. Call 480-499-8587 to subscribe.
Member: Friend members and above save $8 off premium (A-price) tickets. Member tickets are available online, or call 480-499-8587 to order tickets.

About This Event

Cellist David Finckel and pianist Wu Han will perform three works representing the peak of the German Classical and Romantic traditions: Beethoven’s lyrical Op. 69 Sonata, composed at the height of the Classical period; Brahms’s soulful Sonata in E minor, with a fugue in homage to J. S. Bach; and Mendelssohn’s exhilarating Op. 58 Sonata. The evening promises to be a tour de force, exhibiting the technical and expressive powers of this instrumental combination.

They are “America’s power couple of chamber music” (The Wall Street Journal) and the artistic directors of the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center, but they also manage to plumb the rich repertoire of music for their instruments in concerts around the world. Says Strings magazine of the duo: “Finckel and Wu Han surmount all the formidable technical, tonal and musical challenges and play with absolute security, conviction and authority.”

Beethoven: Sonata in A Major for Cello and Piano, Op. 69
Brahms: Sonata No. 1 in E minor for Cello and Piano, Op. 38
Mendelssohn: Sonata No. 2 in D Major for Cello and Piano, Op. 58

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

For security, use of Google's reCAPTCHA service is required which is subject to the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

I agree to these terms.

Post comment